San Juan Creek Watershed

The San Juan Creek Watershed covers 159.98 square miles and includes portions of the cities of Dana Point, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, and San Juan Capistrano. Its main tributary, San Juan Creek, originates in the Santa Ana Mountains district of the Cleveland National Forest in the easternmost part of Orange County. The Arroyo Trabuco, Oso Creek, and are smaller tributaries.

A comprehensive watershed management study for the San Juan Creek Watershed has been underway for several years. It is currently in the Feasibility Study phase.

Please click the underlined text to view theĀ  San Juan Creek Watershed management study.

For more information about this watershed contact OC Watersheds

Watershed and City Boundary Map

Additional information about the Santa Ana River Watershed such as land use, drainage and elevation can be accessed by clicking the link below